Asian Cup squad for A-League players

NEW SQUAD: Australian under-23 coach Josep Gombau.
NEW SQUAD: Australian under-23 coach Josep Gombau. BEN MACMAHON

FOOTBALL: Australian under-23 coach Josep Gombau has named a squad of 26 A-League players for a three-day training camp on NSW Central Coast from next Monday.

The camp is the first step of preparations for the 2018 AFC U23 Asian Cup, with qualifiers to be held in July 2017.

All members of the squad are eligible for the 2018 event, while a second camp will be held in Europe in March for overseas players.

"This is the first step for us to qualify for the U23 Asian Cup in 2018,” Gombau said.

"I'm excited to be working with these young players who are only one step away from playing with the Socceroos.

"We will be able to see them working together to start building the understanding required to succeed in the Asian Cup qualifiers and also observe how they train in the systems we want to play.

"Qualifying for Asian Cups and World Cups is an important part of the development of young players and for football in Australia and this camp is our first preparation opportunity leading into the July qualifiers.”

Western Sydney dominates the squad, with seven representatives, with Central Coast (five), Adelaide (four), Melbourne City (three), Newcastle (three), Perth Glory (two), Brisbane (one) and Sydney (one) also sending players to the camp.

Melbourne Victory is the only Australian club without a representative in the squad.

The Olyroos squad: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City), Jonathan Aspropotamitis (Wanderers), Keanu Baccus (Wanderers), Adam Berry (Mariners), George Blackwood (Sydney), Trent Buhagiar (Mariners), Devante Clut (Jets), Nicholas Cowburn (Jets), Scott Galloway (Mariners), Benjamin Garuccio (Adelaide), Paul Izzo (Mariners), Lachlan Jackson (Jets), Bruce Kamau (Melbourne City), Abraham Majok (Wanderers), Daniel Margush (Adelaide), Riley McGree (Adelaide), Jordan O'Doherty (Adelaide), Liam Rose (Mariners), Kye Rowles (Roar), Lachlan Scott (Wanderers), Mario Shabow (Wanderers), Jaushua Sotirio (Wanderers), Jordan Thurtell (Glory), Ruon Tongyik (Melbourne City), Brandon Wilson (Glory), Liam Youlley (Wanderers).

Topics:  a-league